top of page
Limp_Ugo_Dehaes_Kaleidoskop Kopie.jpg

Ugo Dehaes (BE)
 

Limp
German premiere

location: Schauburg | Große Burg
Wednesday, 10th July | 7 pm
Thursday, 11th July | 11 am

Belgian ballet dancer David Framba thought he would never dance again after losing a lower leg in a motorbike accident ten years ago. Meeting choreographer Ugo Dehaes seven years after the accident changed everything.

 

Choreographer Ugo Dehaes had been integrating computer models, robots, and AI into his projects for years and used a specially developed computer software application to create a duet for David Framba and a three-armed robot. Interactions between human and technology become a means of artistic expression. At first, it looks as if the machine wants to help the dancer return to his original style of dancing, but the robot meddles more and more.

 

“Limp” is the first part in the “Forced Labor” cycle by Ugo Dehaes, where he investigates how you can create dance with robots. His interactive installation “Arena” (2020) empowers the audience to manipulate and evaluate robots, so that they learn to dance by themselves. In his performance “Simple Machines” (2021), he breeds and trains organic robots so that they can take on the roles of the dancer and choreographer. In “Limp” (2024), he investigates, how humans and technology can collaborate to create dance through the interaction of limitations and possibilities, dependence and independence, freedom and control.

 

Ugo Dehaes was born in 1977 in Leuven/Belgien and started to dance at the age of 18. He studied with David Hernandez, Benoît Lachambre, and Saburro Teshigawara, and Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker at P.A.R.T.S. and danced with Meg Stuart/Damaged Goods. In 2000, he created the company kwaad bloed with Charlotte Vanden Eynde. Since 2018, Ugo Dehaes has been working as a “Choregorapher of Things” and constructs moving sculptures.. As a member of the Flemish Young Academy, he has direct contact to academics and researchers in Belgium. He gives workshops and works for artists like Gisèle Vienne & Etienne Bideau-Rey, Kataline Patkaï, Antonin De Bemels, and Heine R. Avdal.

Choreography: Ugo Dehaes in collaboration with David Framba | Dance: David Framba | Dramaturgy: Marie Peeters | Music: Roeland Luyten and excerpt from Maurice Ravels „Piano Concerto for the Left Hand” | Lighting: Arne Lievens | Video: Gertjan Biasino | Costumes: Oona Mampuys | Computational Creativity: Prof. Wiggins (The AI Experience Centre - VUB) | Research: Alexander Craens

Production: kwaad bloed | Co- production: C-TAKT, Schauburg – Theater für junges Publikum, STUK, Perpodium in collaboration with: Schouwburg c o r s o | Distribution: Vincent Company | Support by: de Vlaamse overheid en Tax Shelter van de Belgische federale overheid | kwaad bloed is structurally supported by VGC | Residencies: The AI Experience Centre, Axiles Bionics, De Factorij, Het Gasthuis, 30CC, Danserie, De Pianofabriek, Destelheide | Research with the support of: Participatieve Partnerprojecten van de Vlaamse Gemeenschap 

location: Schauburg | Große Burg

Wednesday, 10th July | 7 pm

Thursday, 11th July | 11 am

ca. 60 min. | 12+

www.kwaadbloed.com

bottom of page

top of page
Limp_Ugo_Dehaes_Kaleidoskop Kopie.jpg

Ugo Dehaes (BE)
 

Limp
Deutsche Erstaufführung

Ort: Schauburg | Große Burg
Mittwoch, 10.7. | 19 Uhr
Donnerstag, 11.7. | 11 Uhr


 

Der belgische Balletttänzer David Framba dachte, er würde nie wieder tanzen, nachdem er vor zehn Jahren bei einem Motorradunfall einen Unterschenkel verloren hatte. Die Begegnung mit dem Choreografen Ugo Dehaes, sieben Jahre nach dem Unfall, änderte alles. Dehaes, der seit Jahren Computermodelle, Roboter und KI in seine Projekte integriert, choreografierte mithilfe eines speziell entwickelten Computerprogramms ein Duett für David Framba und einen dreiarmigen Roboter. Die Wechselwirkungen zwischen Mensch und Technik werden zum künstlerischen Mittel. Zunächst scheint es, als wolle die Maschine dem Tänzer helfen, zu seinem früheren Tanzstil zurückzukehren. Aber der Roboter wird immer übergriffiger. 

„Limp" ist der dritte Teil von Ugo Dehaes' Forced Labor-Zyklus, in dem er erforscht, wie man mit Robotern Tanz kreieren kann. In der interaktiven Installation „Arena" (2020) erlaubt er dem Publikum, Roboter zu manipulieren und zu bewerten, damit sie selbstständig tanzen lernen. In der Performance „Simple Machines" (2021) züchtet und trainiert er organische Roboter, bis sie die Rolle des Tänzers und Choreographen übernehmen können. Und in „Limp" (2024) untersucht er, wie Menschen und Technologie im Wechselspiel zwischen Begrenzung und Möglichkeit, Abhängigkeit und Unabhängigkeit, Freiheit und Kontrolle zusammenarbeiten können, um Tanz zu schaffen.

 

Ugo Dehaes, geboren 1977 in Leuven/Belgien, begann mit 18 Jahren zu tanzen. Er nahm Unterricht bei David Hernandez, Benoît Lachambre und Saburro Teshigawara und Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker am P.A.R.T.S. und tanzte bei Meg Stuart/Damaged Goods. 2000 gründete er die Company kwaad bloed zusammen mit Charlotte Vanden Eynde. Seit 2018 arbeitet Ugo Dehaes als „Choreograf der Dinge” und konstruiert bewegliche Skulpturen. Als Mitglied der Flemish Young Academy hat er direkten Kontakt zu Wissenschaftlern und Forschern in Belgien. Er gibt Workshops und arbeitet für Künstler wie Gisèle Vienne & Etienne Bideau-Rey, Kataline Patkaï, Antonin De Bemels und Heine R. Avdal.

Choreografie: Ugo Dehaes in Zusammenarbeit mit David Framba | Tanz: David Framba | Dramaturgie: Marie Peeters | Musik: Roeland Luyten und Auszug aus Maurice Ravels „Klavierkonzert für die linke Hand” | Licht: Arne Lievens | Video: Gertjan Biasino | Kostüme: Oona Mampuys | Computational Creativity: Prof. Wiggins (The AI Experience Centre - VUB) | Recherche: Alexander Craens 

Produktion: kwaad bloed | Koproduktion: C-TAKT, Schauburg – Theater für junges Publikum, STUK, Perpodium in Zusammenarbeit mit: Schouwburg c o r s o | Vertrieb: Vincent Company | Unterstützung durch: de Vlaamse overheid en Tax Shelter van de Belgische federale overheid | kwaad bloed is structurally supported by VGC | Residencies: The AI Experience Centre, Axiles Bionics, De Factorij, Het Gasthuis, 30CC, Danserie, De Pianofabriek, Destelheide | Research with the support of: Participatieve Partnerprojecten van de Vlaamse Gemeenschap 

Ort: Schauburg | Große Burg

Mittwoch, 10.7. | 19 Uhr

Donnerstag, 11.7. | 11 Uhr

ca. 60 Min | 12+

 

www.kwaadbloed.com

bottom of page