Regina Rossi - DANCE MACHINES © Gloria Schulz
Regina Rossi - DANCE MACHINES © Gloria Schulz

Regina Rossi
(Germany)

DANCE MACHINES

location: Anne-Frank-Realschule (closed event)
Tuesday, 5th July, 11 am
Wednesday, 6th July, 11 am

Concept, artistic direction, choreography: Regina Rossi | Programming, interface design:Gloria Schulz | Dance, avatars: Nora Elberfeld, Sarah Lasaki | Music: Sven Kacirek | Set design: Doris Margarete Schmidt | Dramaturgy: Kirsten Bremehr, Christopher Weymann | Mediation formats: Pauline Schönfelder | Press and public relations: Stückliesel | Production management: Isabelle Wapnitz | Collaborative programming: Jeffrey van der Geest

This could be the school of the future: The Brasilian choreographer fuses virtual, analogue, and auditory worlds in her piece “Dance Machines”. The artistic team around Rossi has designed a futuristic dance lesson, which the students experience on their own bodies via VR glasses and headphones: The galactic-utopian avatars of two professional dancers meet the audience in the virtual dance studio. They give movement impulses, ask questions and guide the audience through dance steps and choreographies. “Dance Machines” humorously plays with the perception of body and movement across different media and explores the virtual space as a place for dance.

3

Regina Rossi studied applied drama studies in Porto Alegre / Brasil, performance studies in Hamburg, and choreography in Amsterdam. She is currently working on her doctorate in applied drama studies / Gießen with Prof. Bojana Kunst. She has lived and worked in Hamburg since 2009. As a performer, Rossi has collaborated with Ted Stoffer, Antje Pfundtner, Barbara Fuchs, and Sylvi Kretzschmar, amongst others. Since 2011, the choreographer has been producing her own pieces, which are of a feminist character in topics as well as in aesthetics. Her “Trilogy of exhaustion“ (2011, 2013, 2014) saw her dealing with Brazil’s body and movement culture and was followed by “Gloom” (2016 and “2lips” (2019). “Lusco Fusco“ (2018) was her first work for a young audience. Since then, one focus of her work has been to teach dance and performance to children and young people.

location: Anne-Frank-Realschule (closed event)

Tuesday, 5th July, 11 am

Wednesday, 6th July, 11 am

90 min | 11+

www.reginarossi.de

Regina Rossi - DANCE MACHINES © Gloria Schulz
Regina Rossi - DANCE MACHINES © Gloria Schulz

Regina Rossi 
(Deutschland)



DANCE MACHINES

Ort: Anne-Frank-Realschule (geschlossene Veranstaltung)
Dienstag, 5. Juli, 11 Uhr
Mittwoch, 6. Juli, 11 Uhr
 

Konzept, Künstlerische Leitung, Choreographie: Regina Rossi | Programmierung, Interfacedesign: Gloria Schulz | Tanz, Avatare: Nora Elberfeld, Sarah Lasaki | Musik: Sven Kacirek | Ausstattung: Doris Margarete Schmidt | Dramaturgie: Kirsten Bremehr, Christopher Weymann | Vermittlungsformate: Pauline Schönfelder | Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit: Stückliesel | Produktionsleitung: Isabelle Wapnitz | Mitarbeit Programmierung: Jeffrey van der Geest
 
Das könnte die Schule der Zukunft sein: In „Dance Machines“ bringt die brasilianische Choreografin Regina Rossi virtuelle, analoge und auditive Welten zusammen. Das künstlerische Team um Rossi hat einen futuristischen Tanzunterricht entworfen, den die Schüler*innen über VR-Brillen und Kopfhörer am eigenen Körper erleben: Galaktisch-utopische Avatare zweier professioneller Tänzerinnen begegnen dem Publikum im virtuellen Tanzstudio. Sie geben Bewegungsimpulse, stellen Fragen und leiten es durch Tanzschritte und Choreografien. „Dance Machines“ spielt humorvoll mit der Wahrnehmung von Körper und Bewegung über verschiedene Medien hinweg und erforscht den virtuellen Raum als Ort für den Tanz.
 
Regina Rossi studierte Angewandte Theaterwissenschaften in Porto Alegre/ Brasilien, Performance Studies in Hamburg und Choreografie in Amsterdam. Derzeit promoviert sie in Angewandte Theaterwissenschaften / Gießen bei Prof. Bojana Kunst. Sie lebt und arbeitet seit 2009 in Hamburg. Rossi kollaborierte als Performerin u.a. mit Ted Stoffer, Antje Pfundtner, Barbara Fuchs und Sylvi Kretzschmar. Seit 2011 produziert die Choreografin eigene Stücke, die sowohl thematisch als auch ästhetisch feministisch geprägt sind. Nach der „Trilogie der Erschöpfung“ (2011, 2013, 2014), in der sie sich mit Körper- und Bewegungskulturen aus Brasilien auseinandersetzte, folgten „Gloom“ (2016) und „2lips“ (2019). „Lusco Fusco“ (2018) war ihre erste Arbeit für ein junges Publikum. Seitdem liegt ein Schwerpunkt ihrer Arbeit in der Vermittlung von Tanz und Performance für Kinder und Jugendliche.

 

Ort: Anne-Frank-Realschule (geschlossene Veranstaltung)

Dienstag, 5. Juli, 11 Uhr

Mittwoch, 6. Juli, 11 Uhr

90 min | 11+

www.reginarossi.de